Simon Ross Valentine: religion, philosophy and Islamic Studies

Aside

Posted on: May 25, 2012

Image

Hi, I’m presently living and working in Saudi Arabia, the proverbial “Sand-pit”. As the picture shows, I’m lecturing at one of the Saudi colleges and greatly enjoying the experience of meeting with, and talking to, Saudi students. [I’m the bearded guy on the left by the way]. In many ways it is a real culture shock living here getting used to complete segregation of men and women; weekends being Thursday /Friday not Saturday /Sunday and everything – and I mean everything – stopping during the five daily times of prayer. But as a writer, it’s an experience I wouldn’t have missed for anything. If anyone wants to contact me and share experiences please do so, until then, masalamah.

Hi, I’m presen…

6 Responses to "Hi, I’m presen…"

Hi dr Simon
Iam very glad when I met you in ksa and hope so to see you againe
Taha Alshareef

It was a pleasure meeting you and your family as well Taha. I’m presently back in the UK applying for iqaama and will contact you soon.

Hi Simon, after living in Saudi do you still believe that the Ahmadiyya are Muslim? Kind regards Ma salamah

Hi Edward, only God knows the intention of the human heart. If a person says they are Muslim, they perform shahada and the other duties incumbent on a Muslim then, as stated in various hadith, no one has the right to say otherwise. Wahhabism, the prevalent strand of Islam in KSA believes that any Muslim, including the Ahmadi, Shia, Sufi etc are kufr – non-Muslim – if they do not share the beliefs that they hold.There are going to be a lot of surprises on judgement day.

Hi simon, do you have an email address I can contact you on? Wanted to speak to you about one of the books you have written…many thanks

Hi, yes, contact me on archegos@btinternet.com

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • archegos1: Hi, yes, contact me on archegos@btinternet.com
  • omar: Hi simon, do you have an email address I can contact you on? Wanted to speak to you about one of the books you have written...many thanks
  • archegos1: It was a pleasure meeting you and your family as well Taha. I'm presently back in the UK applying for iqaama and will contact you soon.

Categories

